Personal Reflections and Babblings, 6/6/2012

So as I’m sure you’ve noticed, there hasn’t been a post with any content in it since my last wallpaper post.  It’s been nearly two weeks since I’ve reviewed an app.  There are a few good reasons (excuses) for this, so I thought I’d take the time to sum them up and spell them out today.

First, my wife and I took a vacation for the first time in our married lives.  It wasn’t really restful, but it was a good time – it was just go go go from morning til night every day we were gone.  Obviously I didn’t intend to do much posting while we were gone!  I have some really cool pictures from the trip back to my hometown, which hopefully I should have posted at some point this week.

Second, I’ve been spending very little time playing with my phone lately and a lot of time making wallpapers for it.  I hope to have a pile of new wallpapers to post at the end of this week.  I’m having a lot of fun making them, and while it isn’t like I’m creating original art very often (honestly, the vast majority of my wallpapers are just slightly or very tweaked existing wallpapers or images), I am being encouraged by my friends in the Android community to keep it up, so I am.

Third, it’s been a very rough week for AOKP.  I don’t talk about it much, but I manage AOKP’s social media (Facebook, Twitter, Google+, and lately their website to a small extent).  It’s been a lot of work and a lot of drama recently, and a time sink.  I do it because I really enjoy being a part of it and helping out – I can’t code or anything – but I have to own to the fact that it is very time consuming and stressful sometimes. I’d rather bite off my own foot than quit, however.  Team Kang for life.

Fourth, I’ve been struggling rather badly with my quest to get more healthy.  I’m doing fine with attending the workouts and pushing myself, but losing the battle at home when it comes to sleeping properly.  I haven’t been able to rest properly for months due to tossing/turning coupled with what I suspect is sleep apnea.  Between forcing myself to work out and lack of sleep, I’m finding myself turning to comfort foods and caffeinated drinks (coffee and sodas) more than is intelligent to do for anybody trying to lose weight.  It’s become a matter of insecurity as well, because I’ve never weighed so much in my life – adding to the tossing/turning I do failing to get unconscious at night.  This all culminates to a lack of energy and mental fugue which makes blogging a daunting task.

Fifth… with all this other stuff going on, my “me time” is becoming more and more precious.  I have a ridiculous amount of media I’d like to enjoy (shows, movies, games, anime, music, books) piling up and damn it all, I’m going to.  It annoys me that my blog suffers for it, but then all work and no play makes justreboot.wordpress.com a crappy read.

Finally… I haven’t really installed any new and exciting apps that aren’t being talked up to death elsewhere.  I can think of several I wouldn’t mind reviewing, but then I Google them and get disheartened that there are already several reviews of them out there on blogs with way more traffic than mine.  I’ll be honest – I’m thinking of stopping doing it here all together and trying to get on board with a larger site to reach a broader audience.  I get a shocking amount of hits on this site (more than I ever could have imagined I’d ever get), but precious few of them are on my actual articles – the wallpapers I post get way more traffic.  Call it what you will, but it still stings quite a bit when a review you put a ton of work into gets 25 views but the wallpapers you posted months ago got over 400.  If I can get involved writing for a larger audience, I will, but if not, I will continue plugging along here, trying to get noticed by the big boys o’ blogging!

So there you have it; all the best excuses I have for the lack of posts lately.  I do have some things planned; it’s all a matter of finding the time and energy to get them out here.  Thanks for sticking around, you won’t regret it!

~dei

 

One thought on “Personal Reflections and Babblings, 6/6/2012

  1. In my opinion you do a great job with your blog. I think it’s important to take from time to time a little timeout.
    In the last two weeks with no updating I reread older blog postings and I think your postings are very good. As long as the content is good I don’t need so often updates.
    Both things are of course fine;)

    With greetings, your silent reader

Leave a Reply

