The State of my Galaxy Nexus (CDMA/LTE) 7/5/2012

Hope you all had a wonderful 4th of July, fellow Americans!

Keeping with the recent trend of not really tinkering much with my phone (Still rocking b39 AOKP and lovin’ it), I’m showcasing another lovely theme; a brand-spankin’ new theme from a fellow member of Team Kang – Purple Serenity.

Alexia is the kind of woman everybody wishes they knew personally; fun, bawdy, ever cheerful, charitable, kind, caustic when necessary or when she feels like it… just a cool cool chick.  I didn’t know her back when she started doing Android themes and things back in her TeamWhiskey days, but I wish I had.  I barely know her, personally… but have enjoyed our conversations on IRC and Twitter.

While she was working on this theme I was lucky enough to get to test it out, and WOW is it ever pretty.  I’m not the biggest purple fan in the world, but I know quality when I see it, and this theme has it in spades, and potential for more.  Go out and get it – Purple Serenity – right now if you have a shred of the love of purple in you at all. After you complete your purchase, read her app description.

See where it says ‘all proceeds will go to charity’?  That part blew me away.  With all her friends in the Android world and the backing of AOKP itself, a strong theme like this could easily pocket her a nice lil rainy day sum.  I asked her for an interview the next time I saw her in IRC to find out why.

As it turns out, Alexia’s from a very charitable family.  She told me stories about how her family would take in less fortunate families to stay with them, and donate generously to charities wherever they went, and it’s just something she’s inherited from them.  I found myself jealous of Alexia for her parents, they seem like real gems – she says that she moved to the US from England as a teen simply because her parents wanted her to see the world.

Just a year and a half ago, Alexia was diagnosed with breast cancer.  Thankfully, it was detected relatively early, and she’s in a very good position to fight it.  All this has seemed to have done for her overall attitude was focus it a little, and give her some direction to her philanthropy; lately, her charitable actions have been focused the Susan G. Komen for the Cure Foundation.

A future update to Purple Serenity may contain one of my wallpapers! *I haz an honored*

During the “interview” (we’re pals; it was just a chat on GTalk) she insisted that I downplay the cancer victim bit, and the donating the proceeds to charity part – Alexia only wants you buying the theme because you like its purple goodness.  She’s going to donate to charity regardless of if this theme sells or not – if you don’t like the theme but want to donate to the Foundation linked above or to any other charity, just do that.

That’s just the kind of awesome person she is.  The Android community is full of interesting and amazing people – the support Alexia has received from them has been overwhelming, and she’d like to thank everybody out there on her behalf… so, thank you.

If you’ll excuse me, I’m a little “I love all of you guys!” misty-eyed at how cool the Android community is myself, and how lucky I feel to get to be a part of it.

2 thoughts on “The State of my Galaxy Nexus (CDMA/LTE) 7/5/2012

Leave a Reply

