The FINAL State of my Galaxy Nexus (CDMA/LTE) 11/28/2012

Rest in peace, my sweet Galaxy Nexus.  It has been a good run.

After replacing you not once, but twice due to screen burn-in issues, and receiving Chinese-make rather than Korean-make models that were worse than their predecessors twice in a row, I was at my wit’s end.  When my job took away the annoying (but reliable) iPhone4 due to lack of use, I was suddenly without a trustworthy phone, which sealed the deal – it suddenly meant moving on.

I’ve replaced my Galaxy Nexus with a Galaxy S3 purchased via the fine folks at swappa.com.  What a great website.

The S3 isn’t perfect, but it will get me through the end of my contract with Verizon no problem.  Having a ton of extra storage thanks to a microSD slot, a battery that isn’t dead 3 times daily, and a signal I can rely upon were the major reasons I had to upgrade… and having AOKP as an option sealed the deal.

This series kind of came to a screeching halt, and that’s primarily my fault – I kind of struggled to find the inspiration to keep writing for a while there, and have mostly regressed into someone who just plays video games or reads all day instead.  I would say the blame is 80% me, 20% Pokemon.  I’m trying to correct that a bit now, but I’m not exactly sure where I’ll be posting.

I want to thank all the people who read this series, and hope I exposed you to cool stuff.  I also want to thank every themer and artist who I featured in it.  You guys made my Galaxy Nexus a beautiful beast, with more outfits than Lady Gaga.

I’ll probably keep this Galaxy Nexus around as a backup in case something horrible happens to my S3.  Hopefully that never comes about, but if it does, maybe I’ll bring the series back from the dead at that point just to make it a complete chronicle.

Leave a Reply

